Compilation Of Minimum Wage By State In The USA

young lady holding the American fag and running in a field

Here’s the minimum wage by each state in the USA at a glance.

 

State

Minimum Wage Per Hour in 2021

Alabama

No state minimum wage.

Alaska

$10.34

Arizona

$12.15

Arkansas

$11.00

California

$13.00

Colorado

$12.32

Connecticut

$13.00

Delaware

$9.25

Florida

$8.65

Georgia

$5.15

Hawaii

$10.10

Idaho

$7.25

Illinois

$11.00

Indiana

$7.25

Iowa

$7.25

Kansas

$7.25

Kentucky

$7.25

Louisiana

No state minimum wage.

Massachusetts

$13.50

Maine

$12.15

Maryland

$11.75

Michigan

$9.65

Minnesota

$10.08 

Missouri

$10.30

Mississippi

No state minimum wage.

Montana

$8.75

North Carolina

$7.25

North Dakota

$7.25

Nebraska

$9.00

New Hampshire

$7.25

New Jersey

$12.00

New Mexico

$10.50

Nevada

$9.75

New York

$12.00, $14.00, $15.00

Ohio

$8.08

Oklahoma

$7.25

Oregon

$12.75

Pennsylvania

$7.25

Rhode Island

$11.50

South Carolina

No state minimum wage.

South Dakota

$9.45

Tennessee

No state minimum wage.

Texas 

$7.25

Utah

$7.25

Virginia

$9.50

Vermont

$11.75

Washington

$13.69

Wisconsin

$7.25

West Virginia

$8.75

Wyoming

$5.15

District of Columbia

$15.20

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

$7.25

Puerto Rico

$7.25

Virgin Islands

$10.50

Guam

$8.75

 

According to a recent Ipsos poll, eight out of ten Americans don’t know the current minimum wage. It’s safe to assume that most people also ignore the minimum wage set by each state as well, so today we want to set that right. It’s important to note that the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour and it has been that way since July 24, 2009. At a federal level, the minimum wage has stayed the same for longer than people would like. 
Most of the population wants a raise to $15 and though there have been several prospects through the years to make that happen, they seem to have been stalled even though the public supports it greatly. While Capitol Hill stays behind, some states are taking action and they are gradually increasing the minimum wage. That’s why it’s so important to have a sense of the minimum wage by state 2021. 
What state has the lowest minimum wage? What state has the highest minimum wage in the USA? Those are important questions and today we will help you answer them by presenting a table that you can quickly check out the minimum wage by state 2021. We also want to discuss each state and how the minimum wage in the USA has increased in each state, if at all, since 2020.
To do that, we used resources from the National Conference of State Legislature and the Department of Labor, which we encourage you to check out. 2020 was one of the most chaotic years in recent history, so before we provide you with a quick table, we want to discuss how the minimum wage by state has changed in a year. So, let’s discuss each state at a time. 

Alabama

There is no state minimum wage law in Alabama, which means that employers who are subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay their employees $7.25, which is the Federal minimum wage. 

Alaska

Alaska has a Basic Minimum Rate of $10.34 per hour. In 2020, the rate per hour was $10.19, so there’s a slight improvement. It’s important to note that the minimum wage in Alaska is adjusted every year and they use a set formula for that. 

Arizona

In Arizona, the Basic Minimum Rate is $12.15 per hour. In 2020, the rate per hour was $12.00, so there’s a slight improvement. The minimum wage in Arizona increases every year with the help of a set formula. 

Arkansas

Arkansas has also increased the minimum wage with a Basic Minimum Rate of $11.00 per hour, which applies to employers with 4 or more employees. The state reached this $11.00 rate per hour through a set of scheduled increases that started back in 2019. In 2020, the minimum wage stood at $10.00. 

California

In California, the Basic Minimum Rate is $13.00 per hour and it applies to employers who have 25 employees or fewer. If the employer has 26 employees or more, the Basic Minimum Rate applicable is $14.00 per hour. The state is working on scheduled increases to the minimum wage to reach $15.00 per hour by 2023. The increases started in 2017 and they are based on a set formula and the number of employees. In 2020, the rate stood at $12.00.

Colorado

The state of Colorado has a Basic Minimum Rate of $12.32 per hour. In 2020, the rate was $12.02 per hour. Colorado has been increasing the minimum wage each year on a set schedule since 2017. 

Connecticut

In Connecticut, the Basic Minimum Rate is $13.00 per hour, which has increased by a dollar since 2020, when the rate was $12.00 per hour. In the state, the rate is automatically increased to 0.5% above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the federal minimum wage is equal to or higher than the state minimum. 

Delaware

Delaware has a Basic Minimum Rate of $9.25 per hour and it was the same in 2020. This state adopts the federal minimum wage by reference if the rate is greater than the state minimum wage. 

Florida

The state of Florida has a Basic Minimum Rate of $8.65 per hour. In 2020, the rate stood at $8.56 per hour. They adjust the minimum wage every year by using a set formula. 

Georgia

Employers with 6 or more employees must pay a Basic Minimum Rate of $5.15 per hour, so it’s one of the lowest rates in the country. However, employers who are subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the federal minimum wage. 

Click here to begin creating your pay stub

Hawaii

Hawaii has a Basic Minimum Rate of $10.10 per hour, just as it was in 2020. According to state law, employment subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act is excluded from coverage unless the state rate is higher than the federal minimum wage. 

Idaho

In Idaho, they apply the federal minimum wage of $7.25.

Illinois

Illinois has a Basic Minimum Rate of $11.00 per hour, which is applied to employers of 4 or more employees but family members are excluded. In 2020, the Basic Minimum Rate was $10.00 per hour.

Indiana

Indiana has a Basic Minimum Rate of $7.25 per hour, applied to employers of 2 or more employees.

Iowa

In Iowa, the Basic Minimum Rate is also $7.25 per hour.

Kansas

Kansas has a $7.25 Basic Minimum Rate per hour and employment subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act is excluded from coverage by state law. 

Kentucky

Kentucky also has a Basic Minimum Rate of $7.25 per hour. 

Louisiana

There is no minimum wage law in Louisiana. Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standard Act must pay their employees the federal minimum wage per hour. 

Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, the Basic Minimum Rate is $13.50 per hour. In 202, it stood at $12.75 per hour. The minimum wage in the state is not less than $0.50 higher than the federal rate for any circumstance. 

Maine

The state of Maine has a Basic Minimum Rate of $12.15 per hour. In 2020, the rate was $12.00 per hour. If the federal minimum wage is increased over the state minimum wage, the state will increase its rate by the same amount. 

Maryland

In Maryland, the Basic Minimum Rate is $11.75. In 2020, the rate was $11.00. 

Michigan

Michigan has a Basic Minimum Rate of $9.65 per hour, which applies to employers who have 2 or more employees. In 2020, They will increase the rate each year, from 2019 to 2030 as long as the unemployment rate in the preceding year is not higher than 8.5 percent.

Minnesota

In Minnesota, companies with annual revenue of $500,000 or higher must pay their employees a Basic Minimum Rate of $10.08 per hour. While companies with annual revenue of less than $500,000 must pay $8.21 per hour. In 2020, Minnesota’s Basic Minimum Rate was $10.00. The state adjusts its minimum wage rate every year with the help of a set formula. 

Missouri

Missouri has a Basic Minimum Rate of $10.30 per hour. In 2020, the rate was $9.45 per hour. 

Mississippi

There is no minimum wage law in the state of Mississippi. Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay $7.25 per hour, which is the federal minimum wage. 

Montana

In Montana, businesses that make gross annual sales of over $110,000 pay a Basic Minimum Rate of $8.75 per hour to their employees. While businesses with gross annual sales of $110,00 or less, pay $4.00 per hour. In 2020, the Basic Minimum Rate was $8.65 and the state increases the rate every year using a set formula. 

North Carolina

The Basic Minimum Rate in North Carolina is $7.25 per hour. 

North Dakota

North Dakota has a Basic Minimum Rate of $7.25 per hour. 

Nebraska

The state of Nebraska has a Basic Minimum Rate of $9.00 per hour, which is applied to employers with 4 or more employees. The rate is the same today as it was in 2020. 

New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, the Basic Minimum Rate is $7.25 per hour.

New Jersey

New Jersey has a Basic Minimum Rate of $12.00 per hour and the rate is adjusted each year with the help of a set formula. In 2020, the rate was $11.00 per hour. 

New Mexico

The Basic Minimum Rate in New Mexico is $10.50 per hour. In 2020, it was $9.00 per hour.

Nevada

In Nevada, if the employer doesn’t provide health insurance benefits to employees, the Basic Minimum Rate is $9.75 per hour. If the employer does provide these benefits, they have to pay $8.75 per hour. In 2020, the Basic Minimum Rate was $9.00 and $8.00 respectively. It’s adjusted annually. 

New York

The Basic Minimum Rate is $12.00 in Long Island, $14.00 in Westchester, and $15.00 in New York City. In 2020, the Basic Minimum Rate was $11.80. 

Ohio

Businesses that generate annual gross receipts of $305,000 or more must pay employees a Basic Minimum Rate of $8.80 per hour. Businesses that generate annual gross receipts under $305,000 must pay $7.25 per hour to employees. In 2020, the Basic Minimum Rate was $8.70 per hour and the rate is adjusted every year with a set formula. 

Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, employers with 10 or more full-time employees or with annual gross sales of $100,000 must pay a Basic Minimum Rate of $7.25 per hour. All other employers must pay $2.00 per hour. If you were wondering what state has the lowest minimum wage, here is your answer.

Oregon

The state of Oregon has a Basic Minimum Rate of $12.75 per hour. In 2020, the rate was $12.00. 

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania has a Basic Minimum Rate of $7.25 per hour. 

Rhode Island

In the state of Rhode Island, the Basic Minimum Rate of $11.50 per hour, which is the same as in 2020. 

South Carolina

South Carolina doesn’t have a minimum wage law. Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay their employees the federal minimum wage. 

South Dakota

South Dakota has a Basic Minimum Rate of $9.45 per hour. In 2020, the rate was $9.30 and they increase the rate each year. 

Tennessee

There is no law for minimum wage in the state of Tennessee. Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay their employees $7.25 per hour. 

Texas

The Basic Minimum Rate in Texas is $7.25 per hour. 

Utah

Utah has a Basic Minimum Rate of $7.25 per hour. 

Virginia

In Virginia, the Basic Minimum Rate is $9.50 per hour, which applies to employers with 4 or more employees. In 2020, the rate was $7.25. 

Vermont

In the state of Vermont, the Basic Minimum Rate is $11.75 per hour for employers with 2 or more employees. In 2020, the rate stood at $10.96. 

Washington

Washington has a Basic Minimum Rate of $13.69 per hour. In 2020, the rate was $13.50. 

Wisconsin

The Basic Minimum Rate in Wisconsin is $7.25 per hour. 

West Virginia

West Virginia has a Basic Minimum Rate of $8.75 per hour, which applies to employers with 6 or more employees. In 2020, the rate was the same. 

Wyoming

Here we have another one of the lowest basic minimum rates, which is $5.15 per hour in Wyoming. Employers who are subject to the Fair Labor Standard Act must pay $7.25 per hour, which is the Federal rate. 

District of Columbia

The State of District of Columbia has a Basic Minimum Rate of $15.20 per hour. In 2020, it was $15.00 per hour. 

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

The Basic Minimum Rate of the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands is $7.25 per hour. 

Puerto Rico

In Puerto Rico, the Basic Minimum Rate is $7.25 per hour for employees who are covered by the FLSA. Those who are not covered are paid $5.08 per hour, one of the lowest rates. 

Virgin Islands

The Virgin Islands have a Basic Minimum Rate of $10.50 per hour, which is the same as in 2020. 

Guam

In Guam, the Basic Minimum Rate is $8.75 per hour. In 2020, the rate was $8.25. 

In Conclusion

The history of minimum wage by state is quite long, but it’s interesting to see how much things have changed through time and how much potential there is for the future. Hopefully, improvements at a federal state will follow soon, but important states are setting the example for now. If today’s article has made you reconsider your salary and you want some tips on how to negotiate your salary, this resource will serve you well. Print your paystubs and save your proof of income for the rainy days with the paystub maker!

Create a pay stub hassle free in under 10 minutes.

Add Choose your state